Archive for February, 2016

Infrastructure Technology Information Library

I have taken the time to be better as a practitioner of the infrastructure technology information library (ITIL) framework.  I did this because I believe this is one of those frameworks like the Project Management Institute’s (PMI) Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBoK) that gives practitioners baseline mechanism to deliver quality outcomes.  In the case of ITIL, it was created to help improve the processes and work efforts we do in delivering IT services at the minimum and deliver business value; stable quality IT service.  I think this is a way for IT to show the business that IT is not just a cost center but a partner in generating the revenue the business is aiming for.    However, I noticed that many executives does not believe in the ITIL framework.  It is seen as confusing probably.  Think about the main phases of ITIL or I would otherwise say IT service management (ITSM).

You have the Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continuous Service Improvement.  Inside each phases are processes that we have to understand.  Take a look at these fundamental items in each of the phases.

Service Strategy.  You have five processes in this phase.  They are as follows:

  1. Service Portfolio Management
  2. Financial Management
  3. Demand Management
  4. Business Relationship Management
  5. Strategy Management

Service Design.  You have eight processes in this phase.  They are as follows:

  1. Design Coordination
  2. Service Level Management
  3. Service Catalog Management
  4. Capacity Management
  5. Availability Management
  6. IT Service Continuity Management
  7. Information Security Management aka IT Security
  8. Supplier Management aka Vendor Management

Service Transition.  You have five processes in this phase.  They are as follows:

  1. Change Management
  2. Service Asset ad Configuration Management
  3. Transition Planning and Support
  4. Release and Deployment Management
  5. Knowledge Management

Service Operation.  You have seven processes in this phase with two IT functions.  They are as follows:

  1. Service Desk Function
  2. Technical Management Function
  3. Applications Management
  4. IT Operations Management
  5. Incident Management
  6. Problem Management
  7. Event Management
  8. Request Fulfillment
  9. Access Management

Continual Service Improvement (CSI).  This phase is really the best part because you would need to go through another cycle where ITIL showed the 7-Step Improvement Model.  Of course, every organization will need to adapt this to their own CSI model.

If you intend to learn the above in detail you will need to get the 5 volumes of ITIL books.  However, @ServiceNow created a simple paper that will help give a layman’s understanding to these ITIL aka ITSM concepts.  I would refer you to check out the paper as you will find it helpful.  ITIL is not only applicable to IT organizations but also to other organizations that provide services and this is what you will see in the ServiceNow paper.